Edited by Jack Stillinger

  • New York: The Grolier Club, 1995.
  • 6 x 9 inches
  • hardcover, slipcase
  • 79 pages
  • ISBN: 9780910672832

Price: $250.00 save 20% $200.00  other currencies

Order Nr. 106680

During the summer of 1818, John Keats and Charles Brown left Lancaster on a 2,000 mile walking tour of the English Lake District and Scotland. Most likely Brown's idea, he planned to document everything he saw on his trip. He wrote in a letter to a friend, "I have many reasons for going wonder-ways: to make my winter chair free from spleen; to enlarge my vision; to escape disquisitions on poetry and mindless criticism; to promote digestion and economise shoe leather."

This book contains a foreword by Jack Stillinger and twelve letters written during the walking tour. Keats provides striking passages on the mountains, waterfalls, and lakes he experienced on his journey, and he philosophizes on landscape scenery and the imagination. In addition to the twelve letters, a handful of articles Brown wrote after the journey are also included. Some letters are addressed to Tom; George and Georgina (Keat's brother and sister-in-law); his sister Fanny; and John Hamilton Reynolds and Benjamin Bailey (two close friends). Containing detailed nature descriptions, many of the striking passages discuss mountains, waterfalls, and the Lakes of Scotland. Keats also philosophizes on the intellectual tone of the landscape and the relation of scenery to the imagination. The book documents day-to-day experiences mixed with anecdotes, jokes, and puns

The texts of the letters have been modernized in punctuation, spelling, and other nonsubstantive features. Printed on handmade paper, this is the first book in a series to display the arts of fine bookmaking. It includes a portrait frontispiece, a facsimile letter, and a map, all tipped in. The book was designed by Jerry Kelly and printed by Daniel Kelleher at Wild Carrot Letterpress, with the tip-ins printed by the Stinehour Press. It accompanies the exhibition held from September 19 to November 22, 1995, and was a winner of the AIGA Fifty Books of the Year Award.